Peace, O2 Academy2 Oxford, Oxford 26.04.13 Max Lilley

Peace, O2 Academy 2, Oxford – 26/04/2013

  • They were originally named November and The Criminals and released their debut self titled EP in March 2010 and then went on to change their name to Peace in October of that year.
  • They stated that the name change was because they had started writing songs that had a different feel and that November and The Criminals was just a collage band name.
  • The name ‘Peace’ was inspired by a photograph celebrating the end of world war two.
  • The bassist and lead vocalist are brothers and grew up in Droitwich Spa and met the other two members at Worcester Sixth Form Collage and thats how the band formed.
  • The bands first gig to date was a slot at Worcester Music Festival on 23rd August 2009 when they were relatively low on the music scene.
  • Their first main supporter was Andrew Marston of BBC Introducing.
  • He gave them a prime time slot on the BBC Hereford & Worcester stage a Nozstock Festival in July 2010 and had received much airplay beforehand.
  • Andy O’Hare, a main presenter on BBC Hereford & Worcester, put them in his top ten picks of the year giving them even more attention.
  • In January 2012, the band released their first single online ‘Bblood’.
  • They were caught onto by NME who listed them in their Ones To Watch [2012] list and praised them highly.
  • The Guardian also praised them for being ‘The Future Of Indie’.
  • In April 2012, the band released their first single ‘Follow Baby’.
  • In that year the band also went on tour with The Vaccines and Mystery Jets.
  • They then went on to release their debut EP, as Peace, on 7th September 2012.
  • The band received much praise by the BBC and NME for the extended play.
  • BBC announced that the band had been nominated for the BBC Sound Poll 2013.
  • On 13th January 2013 the band released the lead single for the album ‘Wraith’ which came in at No.75 in the UK Singles chart.
  • In February 2013 the band then went on the 2013 NME Tour opening up for Palma Violets, Miles Kane and Django Django.
  • ‘Follow Baby’ was also reissued as a single on 24th March 2013 though it failed to chart in the UK.
  • On the 25th March 2013 the band released their debut album charting at No.16 in the UK charts and selling 9,028 copies in its first week.

Key Dates/Achievements:

  • 23/08/09, first gig to date.
  • 07/09/12, debut EP as Peace released with NME giving it 9/10.
  • 09/11/12, announced by the BBC that they were nominated for the Sound of 2013 Poll.
  • 13/01/13, first single release ‘Wraith’ coming in at No.75 in the UK charts.
  • 24/03/13, second single release ‘Follow Baby’, a re-release. Did not chart in the UK.
  • 25/03/13, debut album released ‘In Love’ coming in at No. 16 in the UK charts and received a 9/10 rating from NME and a 7.2/10 from
  • 20/04/13, third single from the album ‘California Daze’ released, again did not chart in the UK.
  • 16/06/13, fourth single from the album ‘Lovesick’ released, and did not chart in the UK.
  • In 2012, 3 of the bands tracks, ‘California Daze’, ‘Bloodshake’ and ‘Follow Baby’ came in at No.13, No.43 and No.47 in NME’s ’50 Best Tracks of 2012’.
  • They were also nominated for Best Band at the NME awards in 2013.

Concert Review:
The band played for a good 75 minutes which is is impressive considering that they have only got one album out and one EP to play songs from. So it was a night of music that I was not expecting to be longer than 2 hours but turned out to be about 3 hours. So content wise it was packed more than I was expected so that was a good surprise.
The band had good rapport with the audience, like someone shouted “I love you Harry!!” and Harry shouted “I love you too!” which shows that the band were not ignoring the audience. They spoke in between songs so that they had time for instrument changes and to get to know the audience. It was quite intimate as the capacity of the venue was only 436 people so it was quite nice to have a small venue and a gig that the band could focus on.
The band, though, were not introduced but they did promote their debut album asking “has anyone by any chance picked up our album?” followed by a loud cheer from the crowd. The lead vocalist also came down into the crowd in the last song to try and interact with the fun that the crowd were having and to try and make the crowd feel like they were part of the music.


  1. Delicious
  2. Follow Baby
  3. Lovesick
  4. Waste of Paint
  5. Float Forever
  6. Higher Than the Sun
  7. Toxic
  8. Scumbag
  9. Wraith
  10. 1998 (Delicious) (Binary Finary cover)
  11. Encore:
  12. California Daze
  13. Bloodshake

The band started with a song that is track 6 on the album, it has an intro that is fit for an opening though which means that they can walk on stage to a big synth sound instead of walking on stage and starting with a track that everyone kind of knows. They ended the main body of the show with their longest song “1998 (Delicious)” which is a cover of a Binary Finary song and is 10 minutes and 8 seconds long and has a loud and musically big ending which is perfect to leave the stage as you can leave it with feedback on and make it seem like a massive ending. This song was better known by hardcore fans as it closes their debut EP. They finished the encore with a classic tune which again is a hardcore fan song and ends the deluxe version of the album. It has a climax section in which everyone moshed to, which created a great atmosphere in the room and it felt like everyone was enjoying themselves and they probably ended on that for the same reason that they chose “1998” to end the main body of the show on.

The lighting was standard for a show of that size, there was nothing special about it as it was a standard set up, they didn’t have and mood lighting for different songs, it was mainly Yellow, Blue and Red lighting for the songs, there weren’t any strobes for the climaxes of any songs either. It was just something in the background whilst the band played.

The sound was also a good addition to the night as it was set up for the venue specifically and did not reflect of the space badly and become fuzzy.

Overall, the gig was a great night of music and I was not disappointed. The bands performance was better than the album and they finished in good time as well, before ten which meant I was not tired the next day. All of the elements of the show were well put together, though if the one had been executed badly it wouldn’t have shown up that much and would not have affected the show itself. So the management for this show was good but nothing special, none the less a great night of live music.


Posted on November 30, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: